Sorensen Alumni

The Sorensen Institute is proud to have more than 2,000 graduates of our various programs. 

Currently 27 program alumni serve in the Virginia General Assembly. In 2017 an alumnus was elected Governor of Virginia. Currently, Congresswoman Elaine Luria (PLP 2017) serves as the representative for Virginia's Second District. Additionally, two Sorensen alumni served as U.S. Congressmen from 2010 until retiring in 2017. They represent the entire range of legislative districts. Sorensen alumni speak for the rural farmer and the urban worker, while representing large metropolitan areas and small traditional communities. These legislators are visible reminders that politics can be about the heated clash of ideas, but that our differences do not have to divide us.

Statewide Office

  • Ralph Northam, Governor of Virginia, CTP 2007

Virginia State Senators

  • John Bell (D-13th District), CTP Spring 2009
  • John Cosgrove (R-14th District), PLP 1998
  • Adam Ebbin (D-30th District), PLP 2000
  • Ghazala Hashmi (D-10th District), CTP 2019
  • Jennifer Kiggans (R-7th District), CTP 2019
  • Lynwood Lewis (D-6th District), PLP 1995, CTP 1999
  • Monty Mason (D-1st District), CTP 2010
  • Jennifer McClellan (D-9th District), PLP 2001, CTP 2005
  • Jeremy McPike (D-29th District), PLP 2012, CTP 2013
  • Bryce Reeves (R-17th District), PLP 2009, CTP Winter 2010

Virginia House of Delegates

  • Lashrecse Aird (D-63rd District), PLP 2015
  • Alex Askew (D-85th District), PLP 2018
  • Amanda Batten (R-96th District), PLP 2011
  • David Bulova (D-37th District), PLP 1997
  • Lee Carter (D-50th District), CTP 2016
  • Glenn Davis (R-84th District), PLP 2007
  • Cliff Hayes (D-77th District), CTP 2001
  • Charniele Herring (D-46th District), PLP 2006, CTP 2008
  • Mark Keam (D-35th District), PLP 2012
  • Kaye Kory (D-38th District), CTP Winter 2009
  • Jay Leftwich (R-78th District), PLP 1996
  • Alfonso Lopez (D-49th District), PLP 2003
  • Danny Marshall (R-14th District), CTP 2001
  • Jason Miyares (R-82nd District), PLP 2000
  • Mike Mullin (D-93rd District), PLP 2015
  • Mark Sickles (D-43rd District), PLP 1998
  • Shelly Simonds (D-94th District), CTP 2012

Hundreds of graduates of Sorensen’s programs hold positions in local government, as mayors, council members, supervisors and elected positions all over the Commonwealth, or as appointed members of boards and commissions and as local community leaders.

Student Programs Alumni

Sorensen's High School and College Leaders Programs alumni have already made their mark on Virginia.

Student Programs alumni are student body presidents, legislative aides, Rhodes Scholars, Governor's Fellows, and appointees to state boards and commissions.

All students in Sorensen's High School and College Leaders Programs write and defend legislation as part of their group projects. The following bills, now approved, were initially crafted by our young alumni, who also lobbied for the bills' passage.

SB 906: Any family life education curriculum offered by a local school division shall require the SOL objectives related to dating violence and the characteristics of abusive relationships to be taught at least once during middle school and at least twice during high school.

HB 1435: If a local school board offers a course in American Sign Language (ASL), it must treat completion of that course as a completion of a foreign language course for purposes of academic credit and graduation requirements.

HB 300/SB 354: Provides a $200 tax credit to registered beekeepers for each new hive.


Class Notes

Emily Webb

Emily recently accepted a position at the Virginia Department of Education as the Director of the Office of Board Relations. In this new role, she will work closely with the Virginia Board of Education and Superintendent of Public Instruction to develop policies and provide leadership that improve student achievement and prepare students to succeed in postsecondary education and the workplace. Additionally, her office serves as the public's liaison to the Board of Education, assisting members of the public who wish to address the board, and is responsible for the dissemination of information regarding board meetings and actions. Emily previously worked for the Virginia School Boards Association as the Director of Govenment Relations. 

Rachel Casebolt

Rachel is nearing the end of her seventh year at the Sorensen Institute where she is the Development and Events Coordinator. Her eleventh Sorensen Gala, featuring a panel discussion with Virginia Women in Leadership, was on April 19. She and her partner Eric have just purchased a 100-year-old home in Waynesboro, VA.

Missy Neff

Missy was appointed to the Board of Trustees of the Science Museum of Virginia on Jul 24, 2017.

Andreas Addison

Andreas was elected to Richmond City Council on Nov. 8, 2016, where he is proud to represent the West End and the First District.

Kim Gray

After eight years representing the Second District on the Richmond School Board, Kim was elected to the Richmond City Council on Nov. 8, 2016. 

Kim Adkins

Kim was appointed to Virginia's Board of Education on April 7, 2017. Kim is the Executive Director of United Way of Henry County & Martinsville, and has previously served as the Mayor of Martinsville.

Vickie Williams-Cullins

Vickie was appointed to the Small Business Commission as a Citizen Member on Sept. 9, 2016. Vickie is executive director of OPN-Door Communications, a mediation and corporate training firm in Hampton, Virginia.

Julie Strandlie

Julie was appointed to Virginia's Advisory Board on Service and Volunteerism on Sept. 9, 2016. Since 2015, she has also served as Planning Commissioner for the Mason District on the Fairfax County Planning Commission.

Jessica Bowser

Jessica Virginia's Advisory Board on Service and Volunteerism on Sept. 9, 2016. Earlier this year, she accepted a position as Executive Director of the Virginia Coalition for Progressive Values.

John Taylor Chapman

John was a appointed to Virginia's Advisory Board on Service and Volunteerism on Sept. 9, 2016. He continues to serve on the Alexandria City Council, a position he was first elected to in 2012.

Traci DeShazor

On June 17, Traci was appointed Deputy Secretary of the Commonwealth. She is already beginning work on a wide variety of issues including restoration of rights, pardons, and relationships with Virginia Indian Tribes. She previously served  as the Deputy Director of the Virginia Office of Intergovernmental Affairs.

Kanwar Singh

I will be graduating from Harvard University and the University of Massachusetts next week. I miss my time at the Sorensen Institute. Our 2013 PLP graduation was a great experience. I especially miss Mayor Coburn and Ross's speeches/performances! Please do visit Boston and say hello when you are in the area. 

Lashrecse Aird

Lashrecse was elected to the House of Delegates in November 2015 to represent the 63rd District, which includes all of the City of Petersburg, parts of the City of Hopewell, Chesterfield, Dinwiddie and Prince George County. She holds the special distinction of being the youngest woman ever elected to the Virginia House of Delegates.